Broken Heart

Today my 40’s began and it is with a broken heart that I write this.  A wonderful Godly woman went to be with the Lord today.  To many she was a friend, a mom, a sister, a daughter, but to my wife she was the closest thing I think two people can be.  To say they were best friends in an understatement, to say they were sisters is not strong enough.  They would joke about talking to each other without the use of phones or email.  They were dear Christian sisters that loved their children, made their husband’s better men, and made the lives around them a more joyful life when in their whereabouts.

My wife is heartbroken as she thinks of her friend, and her 4 small children (the oldest is 10).  I’m heartbroken thinking of her husband whom I love with all that I am.  My prayers are with you dear brother.  Through this pain there must be something, a purpose, a plan.  And while I don’t know what any of that is as I write this, I’m very familiar with the author.  And He does know the purpose and the plan, and I pray that we all pay attention to what He writes next.

There is nothing I can do to bring back my wife’s best friend.  There is no words to share with her to comfort her right now.   But God is good, He is in control, and we must trust His timing.  Yesterday I listed all the things that I was Blessed or grateful for that happened in my 30’s.  Today being the first day of my 40’s I can say God I’m thankful for Lexi, she was a sweet, sweet soul, a deep deep friend to my wife.  She made her smile when I could not, she could be a listening ear when I would only offer solutions.  In many ways my marriage is better and stronger because of her ability to listen to my wife and give her Godly advice when I was void of either.

Lord I’m thankful for the friend you gave my wife, I’m thankful for the friends that came to her side today to share this burden with us.  I am thankful for the friendships she will make on the other side of this event.  I’m thankful that Lexi is with you at this very moment.  Lord watch over my wife and keep her next to you and comfort her.  You are her best friend, her savior, and you are who I can trust to take care of her even more so than myself. God I pray that you give Lexi’s husband grace and wisdom as he continues his walk with you on this side of death.  Lord I pray for their children that they would see their mother’s love when they read their Bibles. God today was a tough tough day, but it was a day you made and so it was a good day.  We will just have to wait to see how You use it for that good.

 

Leave a Reply

