The Sun Sets on Another Year

As the sun sets on another year, we reflect and look back at what was, as well as what is ahead.  The photo above is one of my favorites that my wife has taken, and of course we have to give a shout out to the Praying Mantis model.  Today as I was going through old photos of the boys growing up, of my wife through the years, and random fun shots like the one above there was one thought that kept coming into my mind.  BLESSED!

Father God, I thank you for all the blessings of 2016 and I look forward to seeing where your hand leads me in 2017.   I want to thank you for showing me grace and how to show grace.  I want to thank you for forgiveness and how to give it to others better.  I want to thank you for continually working on my heart and growing me in compassion this past year.

Lord you have been too good to me and there is nothing I could ever do to repay you and so I must accept your free gift as a child accepts a gift from a father.  With total excitement, appreciation, and a humble spirit.

Christ thank you for showing us how to love, thank you for the work of the cross that I may have salvation.  Thank you for abiding in us and helping us to abide in you.  Thank you for working in our lives in spite of our weakness.  Thank you for the Spirit of God that you put into the heart of your followers.

2016 was a great year Lord, there were trials and sure there were tough times but you were with us and brought us through those.  You opened doors, you gave us hope.  Lord you are my foundation, and my prayer for my family in 2017 is that they would each continue to pursue a relationship with you.  That you would grow a love in each of us that would be to huge to contain.  That we would be known as a family of followers that love our neighbors.

Christ continue to grow our hearts, continue your hedge of protection, continue your outpouring of love on us.  Give us a heart of wisdom.  You Oh Lord, are the greatest Blessing of all.

Happy New Years Everyone and Celebrate the Life of Christ!

Psalm 90:12 “So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.”

Leave a Reply

