Garage Sale Advice

The other day I was following some garage sale signs through a neighborhood and it lead me to a familiar house.  The man in his late 70’s and his wife sitting next to him were a familiar sight.  The man was the leader of my second Bible Study after becoming a believer, and first as a married man.  We sat down talked about common friends and how we had been doing.  We talked about when is the right time to have my boys baptized as this gentleman had once done for me.  As we were leaving I said “good luck, with the garage sale”.  Then smiling I looked back knowing what was about to be said.  “I don’t believe in luck.”  I loved hearing Joe say this to me just like in the old days 13 years ago as a new believer.  He also reminded me of the first scripture he had all his men that he had mentored or discipled through the years memorize.  I thought that it was good advice for me to wade back through it, since God had ordained this meeting through the use of garage sale signs.

Psalm 1New American Standard Bible (NASB)

BOOK 1

The Righteous and the Wicked Contrasted.

How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked,
Nor stand in the [a]path of sinners,
Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
He will be like a tree firmly planted by [b]streams of water,
Which yields its fruit in its season
And its [c]leaf does not wither;
And [d]in whatever he does, he prospers.

The wicked are not so,
But they are like chaff which the wind drives away.
Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
Nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.
For the Lord [e]knows the way of the righteous,
But the way of the wicked will perish.

The first thing Joe wanted us to do as new believers was to understand that we needed to meditate on God’s word day and night to be that tree firmly planted.  What a great gift to pass along to all the men and women we come in contact with through our lives/ministries.  I pray that everyone that reads today’s blog will share Psalm 1 with one person

Leave a Reply

