Easter Matters

The other day I was running errands around town, and as I was checking out I told the guy working “Happy Easter”.  He said “yea it is that time again”.  I said “Yes some times it’s in March sometimes it’s in April”.  He said “yea, It doesn’t really matter I don’t have any children”.  My heart sank and I wanted to tell him why Easter matters more than any other holiday, and it wasn’t contingent on having kids.  But nothing came to mind as to how to do this in a polite natural way.  I came home got some Christian resources about Easter and a note, and brought them up to the store today to give to this new person that God has placed on my heart.  He wasn’t there but his co-worker said he would love it, and that they will give it to him.  My prayer is that he will read why Easter does matter. My prayer is that he is already a Christian but was just making small talk.  But if he is not my prayer is that God would send the Holy Spirit to this man and open his eyes to the Truth of Easter.

In one sentence Easter matters because it is the redemption of man from sin.

Acts 13:38 “Be it known unto you therefore, men and brethren, that through this man is preached unto you the forgiveness of sins.”

Galatians 1:4 “Who gave himself for our sins, that he might deliver us from the present evil world, according to the will of God and our Father.”

1 Peter 2:24 “Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed”.

1 Timothy 1:15 “This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief”.

My friends Easter matters more than any other holiday that we celebrate.  It is more important than any other event in the History of the world.  It is where evil was defeated, even the evil in all of us.  Easter is about the redemption of man from his sins and this was accomplished at the cross, and resurrection of Christ.

My prayer is that we would all use this time to look for opportunities to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ so that we might through the Holy Spirit lead others away from destruction and toward eternal life with our Savior.  Easter Matters!

Leave a Reply

