The Law of Murder Matthew 5:21

Tonight I was spending time with my two older sons.  We spent time praying to God, singing to God and reading His Word.  My oldest son asked me why does Jesus not talk to us.  To my astonishment I said what do you mean Jesus talks to us all the time when we read His Word.  My son said well I don’t hear him.  So I flipped open my Bible and the first thing I saw was Matthew 5:21-22

“You have heard that the ancients were told, “you shall not commit murder” and “whoever commits murder shall be liable to the court.”  “But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother shall be guilty before the court; and whoever says to his brother, You good-for-nothing.  Shall be guilty before the supreme court; and whoever says, “You fool, “shall be guilty enough to go into the fiery hell.”

As I read this my son smiled because when I read the part about saying your brother is good for nothing he was convicted that it sounded like him and his brothers when they fight.  I asked him “did God speak to you?”  My son responded “yes”.

My son was suffering from what many of us suffer from.  God is there, and His word remains forever.  Give it a try and you will see how God talks to you.   It will not return void.

Now the good news.  Hating my brother, being unforgiving, all of these are sin, and “the wages of sin is death”.  I deserve hell that is what my works have earned me in my life.  But my friends God sent His son to die for us on a cross so that our sin would be covered by His blood.  This blood covering now allows God to see us unblemished to have fellowship with Him.  Christ dying and raising from the dead, destroyed the power of sin, Satan, and death.  I believe this and I hope that you believe it too.

Jesus Christ is the Worthy Lamb of God!  Don’t be on the fence on this issue.  Search the scriptures and like my son figure out what God is trying to say to you!

 

Leave a Reply

