Oh How I Desire to Astonish Jesus

There are many folks in the Bible that I look at and really admire their love of God.  I love the stories of Daniel, Stephen, Paul, and Nehemiah to name a few.  But one of my favorites is about a man who’s name is not ever mentioned.  We know him only as the centurion.

Matthew 8:5-13

The Faith of the Centurion

When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed, suffering terribly.”

Jesus said to him, “Shall I come and heal him?”

The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

10 When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him,“Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith. 11 I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven.12 But the subjects of the kingdom will be thrown outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

13 Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! Let it be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed at that moment.

Every time I read this I am so encouraged that a regular Joe, and everyday ordinary man had the ability to astonish or amaze Jesus.  Really all we must do is come to Jesus and ask for His help, and He is willing.  We also tend to sell Jesus short on what He has power over.  I know that I have put Jesus in a box saying He can or can’t do this based off nothing more than my life experiences (even if only in my head).  As I look back at that, I say to you how foolish my tongue and evil my thoughts.  How can I possibly put limits and boundaries on the very one who establishes what a limit or boundary is in the first place.

I’m now in a very different place in my walk.  Have I ever seen someone pray for someone to be healed and then the person walks away healed?  The answer is no.  But just because I have not seen it doesn’t make it impossible for God.  I need to remember my place and be humbled to know that Christ has all authority and if He wills it will be so it will be so.  Lord, please forgive me of my unbelief.  Please strengthen me in your word, and in your love.  Help me to astonish you Jesus.  Help me to have a faith greater than the centurion.  I want You to be well pleased.  How easy I forget sometimes the many snares You have brought me through.  Help me Jesus to know that You are the one true God, in control of all things, and that You have been given dominion from the Father.  Faith in you has cured the heart of man for centuries which is much harder than fixing broken bones, and the afflictions of health we go through.

In Christ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

