He Cares For Us (So Sit At His Table)

One of the things that keeps coming up in my alone time with God is why does he care for me?  With all the issues that I bring to the table, and with all the perfection that He brings to the table, I wonder how in the world are we at the same table.  I’m reminded of the lady in the Bible who just wanted the crumbs at the table of the Lord.

The Faith of the Canaanite Woman
“…26 And He answered and said, “It is not good to take the children’s bread and throw it to the dogs.” 27 But she said, “Yes, Lord; but even the dogs feed on the crumbs which fall from their masters’ table.” 28 Then Jesus said to her, “O woman, your faith is great; it shall be done for you as you wish.” And her daughter was healed at once.”

I feel like this lady many days if only I could have some of the crumbs Lord. My thought is how can I be worthy to eat the fathers bread.

Luke 12:24

“24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds!”

The above verse in Luke is one that I’ve been teaching my sons lately.  Again, God loves the birds and takes care of them.  How much more does he love me, how much more valuable does He believe I am.  I’m not only at the table, I’m his prodigal son that has come home.  Through the blood of Christ I’ve been saved and as his son he rejoices in me, in spite of my issues. The only reason I’m at the table is because Christ paid the way.  This gives my heart a promise to hold onto, because not only am sinner today but I’ll be one tomorrow.  But the blood of Christ has not only made me a saint at the moment of first belief but for eternity.  You can’t defeat perfection.  That perfection that I feel so inadequate to sit with is the only reason I can sit.  Thank you God for loving me while I was still your enemy.  Thank you for adopting me as a son.  Thank you for loving me and telling me how much more valuable I am to you.  Your love knows no end.  Thank you for sending your perfect Son to pay my ransom.  Christian brothers and sisters please come to the table, He wants to feast with us.  And if you are not a son or daughter of Christ today come like the Canaanite woman, His love has the power to save you.

Leave a Reply

