To The Class of 1995 (20 Years)

This fall my high school will be having it’s 20 year reunion, and again I won’t be making it.  I have a new life and new friends and responsibilities.

But even with all that I do have something, I would like to tell my classmates from so long ago (it sure does seem long ago to me).  I would like to tell them sorry.  What for?  Well I was not a Christian back in High School, if you would have asked me I would have told you I was, but I wasn’t and I know that now.

In high school I’ll be honest I have no idea why anyone liked me I was an athlete (Basketball and Baseball) so I’m sure that helped, I was funny (or so I thought), and on every outward appearance seemed normal.

Because of that normal outward appearance my heart became prideful, arrogant, and boastful.  I was rude to folks, but I would do it with a smile, and a just kidding so that they would still like me.

I thought the world was lucky to have me, and because of that I looked down on folks.  I built an idol and it looked a lot like me and I sure did like to worship it.  For all these things I’m sorry.

I had different groups of friends too.  I never hung out with them all together, I would compartmentalize my friends.  Some for when I wanted to be cool, some for when I wanted to ball, and some for both (but not too many).  I wasn’t the same person depending on what group I was with.  Again, I’m sorry for playing favorites and being false.

I was so looking forward to getting out of high school by the beginning of my senior year that that I really only took the time to get to know a few people very well at all.  I was ready to go make new friends, instead of cherish the few days left with the ones I had since 6th grade.  For that I’m sorry.  To be honest I was pretty low on self esteem on the inside and needed to be liked by others to feel worth.  To feel like I belonged.

7 years after I left high school something happened to me though.  I became a Christian in August of 2002.  I now believe that all men were made in the image of God.  I now know that there was nothing special about me, but there is something special about Jesus.  I now know that I deserve to go to hell because I’m a sinner, a arrogant prideful sinner.  And yet, God gave His one and only Son to die on a cross for me.

If you were a class mate of mine at any time and I offended you in any way (and there must be many ways) I pray that you would forgive me.  Please don’t be bitter with me.  And if there are any of you out there that don’t know Jesus.  Not the Jesus our culture talks about, but the Jesus of the Bible.  If you don’t know about Him.  I pray that you will become intimate followers of His.  Like the wisest man in the Bible said “all is vanity”.  I chased vanity for 25 years (and sometimes I still do), how childish of me.  Class of 95 put away our toys, comforts, sorrows, and rejoice that if we come to Jesus, He is faithful to forgive, He is faithful to love us, and through that even the most prideful and arrogant can become a humble servant of Lord Jesus.  Although my many actions merit eternity in hell, the death and resurrection of Jesus washes my sin off of me and my robes are as white as snow.  How undeserved by me, and yet how wonderful

I won’t be at the reunion this year, but I would love to see you all at the reunion with our Maker one day in the life to come.

In Christ,

David

1 Corinthians 13:11

11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me.

Leave a Reply

