My Light is Lit Because Christ Lit it

“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:14,16 NIV

The above was the verse of the day on a site I check out from time to time BibleGateway.com

I like the verse but as a Christian it is so hard to see how come Christ put a light in me at all.  I’m thankful that He did, I’m thankful that when I do good deeds He is glorified.  I just am shocked that Christ would use me with all my faults to point to His glory.  Christ your Mercy and Grace truly are too much to comprehend.  the more I see my life through your eyes the more I wonder how can this be.  I’ve been a Christian now for over 12 years, and it is amazing to me that I can continue to learn year by year the depths that you went to save me from my sins.  Christ I was an enemy to you, and yet you still came to this earth as a man to save me.  You died the most horrible of deaths for me.  Like the end of the movie Private Ryan I find myself asking “was I worth it”  (it being the sacrifice of others).  In my own understanding I would say no, but Christ has much more understanding than me and he has purpose for my life.  I praise God for the good works that he set for me to do, and I do give Him the glory.  My heart was not set on Him it was set on my own selfish ambitions.  Lord I pray make me your light, keep me lit when the winds blow, when the rain pours.  Keep my light burning for You, I am weak and like Isreal of old, can see myself putting me ahead of you by the day.  Help me to reject this type of thought and action, help me to serve and love my family, friends, neighbors, and enemy’s.   Not because I burn so bright, but because You burn so bright in me.

Leave a Reply

