The Book of Romans Chapter 4

“Blessed are those whose lawless deeds have been forgive, and whose sins have been covered.  Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord will not take into account”.  Romans 4:7-8

I count myself among the blessed, that my sin will not be taken into account and for this I rejoice.  As it says in Romans 4:2-5 “For if Abraham was justified by works, he has something to boast about, but not before God.  For what does the scripture say? Abraham believed God and it was credited to him as Righteousness.  Now to the one who works, his wage is not credited as a favor, but as what is due.  But to the one who does not work, but believes in Him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is credited as righteousness.”

What have I done that could have earned my righteousness?  What great favor did I do for God?  NOTHING!!!

My hope is in His favor, in His pardon, in His sacrifice, and in His Glory.  Any hope for salvation apart from the saving blood of Jesus in not only vanity on my part, but it is also offensive to a Holy God who sent His Son to die for me.

Romans 4:24 “but for our sake also, to whom it will be credited, as those who believe in Him who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead, He who was delivered over because of our transgressions, and was raised because of our justification.”

Leave a Reply

