The Joy of Picking Weeds

Yesterday, I got home from a full day of work and changed clothes, headed outside on a beautiful spring day with the kids.  Before we went out on a walk to hunt for frogs together, I went out in the front yard and started picking weeds out of my lawn.  Last summer it looked so nice and over the fall the weeds had taken over some areas.  I was out in the silence just enjoying the warmth of the sun, the smell of fresh air, the songs from the birds, the accomplishment of pulling each weed.  Then I thought how blessed I am.  Then I thought how excited I was to get each weed….& then finally I though how excited God must be to pull the weeds (or Sin) out of me.  Sanctification is hard work for me, but enjoyable work for the Lord.  Thanks God for not leaving me looking like a field full of weeds.  Thanks for cleaning me up and transforming me into a lawn You can be proud of.

Leave a Reply

