Lecrae and his new #1 Album

I’ve noticed over the years as Lecrae moves his music from full out blatant Christian rap to something that is a little more main stream that Christians feel the need to pull him down.  To persecute him for singing a song without the name of Jesus in it as if he is selling out his faith for money and fame.  Folks, Paul himself said we need to be all things to all people for the sake of the Gospel.  Last night on the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, Lecrae got more eyes on his Album cover than ever before.  Now what if like most artist that appear on the show there is a jump in sales today.  Is this a bad thing for the expansion of the Gospel?  What if these folks who don’t normally shop at Mardel’s, like the music and then go back to listen to his earlier stuff.  What if God uses Lecrae’s music in a way that brings glory to His name?  Is Lecrae a sell out or is he a disciple of Christ doing what he was told to do in Acts 1 going out and telling his Judea, Sameria, and the ends of the earth?  What if Lecrae is sold out for the Gospel and even if it means taking shots from “Christians” he is willing to die to self for the glory of God?  How do we know that Lecrae is not doing what he has been called to do?  As a Christian I sometimes struggle to know what God is calling me to do much less everyone else.  Perhaps we should pray for Lecrae and the outreach of his ministry instead of saying how we would do it.  Sometimes God gifts us differently and sometimes His vision for our life is different than his vision for others.  As for me when I see Lecrae, I see a man who is desperately living out Romans 1:16.

Verse of the Day: 1 Corinthians 9:22-23   “to the weak I became as weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.”

Leave a Reply

